Expectations

rec-woman-looking-out-window-11-9-11-md

 

The day he came home from Japan I was so nervous. I had been all week actually. I had been busy planning our date in Boston along with how I was going to fit in picking him up from the airport and spending a whole day not working. (that was a a big deal considering I hadn’t taken a day off in months)  Arrangements had been made. I’d done extra work at the office that morning to make sure I was ready for the Fine Arts trip that weekend. It was St Patrick’s Day and I was getting out of work from my evening job (as opposed to my day job and volunteering).  A car approached and a friend of mine jumped out. “Come celebrate St. Patty’s Day with us tonight”. If only they knew how exhausted I was and that a HUGE moment was happening the next day. I politely excused myself and drove home. Windows down, music loud. Arriving at the house I went to my bedroom and plopped down all my bags from the day. One of my roommates ran into my room, “You NEED to get on skype”.  All I could think about was that I wanted a shower and any sleep that I could get. After trying to get onto Skype and it failing, I headed to the shower. Once in the bathroom I realized that the shampoo I bought that day was still in my room, I trudged back down the hall. She was on Skype talking to him, so I joined. He was in his hotel room in Boston awaiting morning for me to come pick him up so we could spend the perfect day together. We said our hellos as my friend got off the bed and went down stairs. Suddenly my boyfriend’s face disappeared from the window on the scream, for a split second I thought I saw a girls face appear. My mind barely had time to think about why there was a girl in his hotel room. Then I felt my roommate get back on the bed and lay next to me. Suddenly his face reappeared in the window on the screen. Only it was the wrong window, it was where my face should be. I turned quickly to see the person next to me was not my roommate, but him. I screamed, covered my face, and kicked him. Soon I calmed down most of the way (by now I had a small audience in the hall) and he picked me up and hugged me. So many thoughts were running through my mind. This man that I know I love is finally here in the flesh and yet, he feels like a complete stranger. I know I want to kiss him, but I have an audience and who is this person?

Thinking about this I flashed back to a time when I came home from a summer in Georgia and a man I had been talking with suddenly stopped answering my calls days before I flew home. After a few days of being home and not hearing from him, I went to his house. I got out of my vehicle and ran towards his arms. Expecting to be scooped up and spun around like I had been several times before. Instead my flipflop fell off, I tripped, and he barely embraced me. My expectations had been crushed.

As women we base a lot of our lives on expectations. For me it often is what I expect from my husband, and grace to cover what does not meet my expectations. (just because it is what happened in the eye of my mind does not mean it is realistic to happen) I read this devotional by Joyce Myer’s. Ironic enough, it was about expectations.

What Are You Expecting? by Joyce Meyer

The Lord is good to those who wait hopefully and expectantly for Him, to those who seek Him. —Lamentations 3:25 After we pray and ask God for what we want, need, or desire, we should wait expectantly. We must be full of hope, which is joyful and confident expectation of something good happening. After years of being disappointed in my childhood and early adult years, I developed what the Bible calls evil forebodings (see Proverbs 15:15). That means I was expecting bad news most of the time. I believe many people are caught in the trap of being afraid to expect something good because they do not want to be disappointed again. God wants everyone to aggressively expect good things from Him because He is good. Don’t be passive either. A passive person is someone who wants good things to happen and they are going to do nothing but wait to see what happens. Although the verse for today does tell us to wait, it says to wait expectantly. I like to confess Scriptures aloud while I am waiting on God to work in my behalf. They remind me of His promises, and they keep me encouraged. God’s Word is filled with creative power and, when spoken in faith, it is equal to sowing seed that will bring a harvest. If you have prayed and find yourself waiting longer than you had planned for an answer, thank God that He is working when you are tempted to be impatient. Tell God what you are expecting and look forward to your breakthrough. Don’t fall into the trap of complaining and murmuring while you wait either. Be joyfully confident that your answer is on the way. God’s word for you today: Don’t get discouraged. God is working and you will see the results soon.

My husband may not meet all my expectations. (let me rephrase, he WILL not meet all my expectations, he is human) My friends, situations, bosses, etc will not meet all my expectations. That place is for God. He is who I can “aggressively expect good things from”. When we start wanting things from humans that only God can do, is when we get frustrated. Today, expect with grace.

4 thoughts on “Expectations

Leave a Reply

