Project 333 Progress

Ok, so last time I talked to you about Project 333 I was down to 37 items. This did not include jewerly, shoes, belts, scarves, or purses. Since April I have found some of the items I never thought I wore, I actually do. While some of the items I was sure I’d need, haven’t moved from the hanger. It is an interesting learning process. I am definitely growing from this project in many new ways. It is almost silly to think we depend so much on clothing, fashion, and accessories to feel “comfortable” or “unique”.

image

I received an awesome comment on my last post from someone who is also trying to downsize their wardrobe. They’re using their oen method called The Closet Countdown. I am so excited to hear about other people’s experiences and adventures with minimalism. We all may have our own method of getting there, but we have a common goal. Its invigorating.

image

This comment actually inspired and reminded me to write a follow up to my attempt at Project 333. (Again please visit their website, its amazing. http://www.theproject333.com) This month I am minimalising my jewerly.

image

image

Why is jewelry so hard for me to cut down on? I have ALWAYS had way more jewelry than I could ever wear. I used to think I needed a different pair of earrings with each outfit.

Last year I went 11 months with only a handful of earrings and 2 necklaces. It was more than enough. Yet when I received all of my old jewelry in the mail, I couldn’t help but keep it all. Out on display. Wearing something new everyday.

image

First I took all of my jewelry and put it in one place. I separated it into piles. Items I wear on a regular basis. Items I never wear. Items that have sentimental meaning, but I rarely wear them. Items I might wear during a different season.

image

This made it a little easier to see, I did not really need it all.

image

I did not want to get rid of anything just yet. Styles change. Taste changes. Outfits change. There is no sense having to buy more jewelry in 6 months, so I seperated and packed away the items I felt that I do not wear on a regular basis.

image

I began with a plethora of jewelry that I never wore most of, and this is what I ended up with.

image
image

11 pairs of earrings (yes, that is less than half of what I started with. Its my crutch)

image
image

2 necklaces (the diamond cross is both sentimental and versatile. Simple, yet its white gold and diamonds which can also be classy)

image

5 bracelets (I have recently been wearing bracelets more and more. They were never my thing for years)

image

I also kept one ring (besides my wedding set) that I don’t wear always, but on special occasion.

image

Everything looks much neater. There are no more “dust collectors” sitting around. I honestly am happy with the result.

image

Soon it will be fall (not too soon, but its approaching) and time to rotate again. Cross my fingers I will be able to use what I’ve learning this time around and make good choices for the fall, narrowing it down closer to 33.

image

In the end I’m just glad that I am seeing how much importance I put on little things that do not actually define who I am. Stuff is wonderful. Its necessary. It is rewarding. But it cannot be what consumes us or defines us. It is perishable. It is not character of the soul. That. That is what is truly important.

Leave a Reply

