Own It – The Power of Women at Work by: Sallie Krawcheck

17407936_10212042761245315_1335014818_o

 

It isn’t easy being a woman in the working world. The children’s needs, laundry, monthly cycle, cooking, and relationships don’t just STOP and WAIT as we run our businesses and pursue our dreams. It can feel like a balancing act, with never enough hours in the day.

 

Sallie Krawcheck shows women how to play to their strengths and use the way the business world is evolving to their advantage. Technology and being able to work from home is enabling more and more women to be able to perform jobs at a capacity that they may not have been able to before. Networking and emphasis on gaining gender equality are also things that our mothers and grandmothers didn’t have in the professional work environment, and we can now bank on. Today, more than ever, women are taking control of their finances and their future. That is a good thing! For themselves and their children.

There is one chapter, “The Flexibility Without Shame Conversation”, that hit home for me. I cannot tell you how many times I felt guilty that I had something else in my life to do besides work on a weekday (or weekend). In the last few months I have learned that I can be a mom, a boss, and a wife at my own pace. If I am 100% when I am in each role, then I can do all of them well. Blending and balancing every aspect and taking the day as it comes.

 

Leave a Reply

